turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I need to pay US capital gains tax on foreign stocks when I already pay capital gains tax in the foreign country where the stocks are held? (I am a US resident.)

I am a foreign national and US permanent resident and grew up outside the US. Before immigrating to the US, I had opened a stock depot (similar to a Fidelity-type target fund).  I now want to sell the stocks. The stocks will be automatically subject to capital gains tax withholding in the foreign country. I want to know how to handle this tax situation.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Do I need to pay US capital gains tax on foreign stocks when I already pay capital gains tax in the foreign country where the stocks are held? (I am a US resident.)

Yes you do however you can use either the foreign tax credit or Sch A deduction so you are not double taxed.

Thank you for your quick response. How do I claim this foreign tax credit then? Can I use TurboTax for that?

I have a similar issue, could you share how you ended up handling yours using TurboTax? @lars.holzhausen

Where do I enter the foreign tax credit (Form 1116) or deduction?

Both the credit and the deduction are entered in the same place.

After entering all your foreign income, here's what you do:

1. Open your return.
    (To do this, sign in to TurboTax and click the orange Take me to my return button.)
  2. Do a search for foreign tax credit and then click the "Jump to" link in the search results.
  3. Click Continue and carefully follow the onscreen instructions.