Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am an Uber driver and don’t have copies of my gas receipts will I still be able to deduct ??

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I am an Uber driver and don’t have copies of my gas receipts will I still be able to deduct ??

Any credit card or debit card records?

There are 2 methods to deduct car expenses as an independent contractor.

You can use the standard mileage rate method.  This is around 55 cents per mile (it changes each year) and covers all your car expenses including fuel, maintenance, repairs, and wear and tear.  To use this method you must have accurate records of the: date, time, mileage driven and business purpose of each trip.  (Uber may provide this in the app.)

Or you can use the actual expense method.  You need the same mileage records, plus you need the total of all miles driven in the year (business plus personal), plus you need records of all your car expenses (gas, maintenance, repairs).  You can include depreciation (wear and tear) and lease payments if the vehicle is leased.  You are allowed to deduct the percentage of expenses that equals your percentage of business use.  (For example, if you drove 20,000 miles and 12,000 miles was for Uber, you could deduct 60% of your actual expenses.)

The IRS will expect that you have accurate business records and be able to prove your expenses if audited; the IRS does not have to allow any deduction you can't prove.