Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a pastor (or minister or clergy) in a church! I became one back in April 2016! I've had quiet some expenses for the remaining 8 months!

I did receive $60 for gas expenses one time! but because of the financial strain of our church i do not wish to receive any income! But the expenses that i have made in the past 9 months like travel expenses are quite big! for example the mileage i drive from my house to the church is 125.4 miles , but in one week i drive a total of 250.8 miles! I was told to put it a charitable donations! I had read to file as self-employed so i was going with that, because there were other expenses that i made using my finances! I also don't know if i apply as minister, clergy or pastor . I have documents to back up as minister or clergy i guess until my inauguration as pastor!  Please help, I am new at this!
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I am a pastor (or minister or clergy) in a church! I became one back in April 2016! I've had quiet some expenses for the remaining 8 months!

Already answered here. https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/3455317-in-april-i-became-a-pastor-not-officially-on-paper-but-i-a...

You can't deduct expenses as work expenses unless you have work income.  It doesn't matter if you are pastor or not.  (On top of that, pastor's expense deductions are limited by something called the Deason rule, but you don't have that issue now because you don't have work expenses.)