Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

taxhero2

How to deduct travel scholarship reimbursement for research study? I have kept all the receipts. The scholarship was awarded to me to reimburse qualified travel expenses.

I received a research travel scholarship that assisted me in conducting my dissertation research study, to earn a graduate degree. The scholarship was paid to me as reimbursement for "qualified expenses" (Lodging, Miles Driven, Uber/Lyft Receipts, Food, etc.) So it was not a real income per se and I used all the money (about 5k) to pay for a portion of my travel expenses for research which is basically a requirement of my degree. (I know books and supplies are deductible because they are required for a course or to earn a degree but as an advanced grad student I don't have required books but I have expectations about conducting research from my dissertation committee members). The scholarship is showing up on my 1098-T as "Travel Scholarship Grad". I have all the receipts that I submitted to the school and receive the reimbursement.  Is there any way to deduct that scholarship and classify it as a non-taxable income?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

How to deduct travel scholarship reimbursement for research study? I have kept all the receipts. The scholarship was awarded to me to reimburse qualified travel expenses.

Travel is not a deductible expense.  This means, it is income that you cannot take a deduction for. Any scholarships used to cover travel expenses are taxable. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
message box icon