Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Changing IRA contribution year?

I’m still new to US taxes and working in the U.S.

I started a new job in late 2022, my first in the U.S.

Last year at tax time, I opened an IRA and made a contribution, hoping to deduct it on my 2022 taxes. However, I didn’t realize that my employer had auto-enrolled me in their crappy 401(k) without my knowledge. (No match; bad investment options.)

I shut it down as soon as I realized but still had to report 401(k) contributions on my 2022 taxes so I was not able to get a tax deduction on the IRA.

I didn’t report the IRA contributions on my 2022 taxes but when I initially opened the account with the brokerage (Merrill Lynch) I selected 2022 tax year. That was before I knew about the 401(k) contributions.

I’m doing my taxes now (with an extension to Oct. 15) and wondering if I can apply the IRA contribution to my 2023 taxes? The contribution was made in 2023 prior to the April tax deadline.

Do I need to update something with Merrill Lynch first or can I just input the IRA contribution as 2023 in TurboTax?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

Please check back. I will page @dmertz.

I'm pretty sure the answer is no, but I will wait for @dmertz .

Anything you could have done about the 2022 contribution would have to be done before October 15, 2023, if anything was even allowed.  And you can't make a new contribution for 2023 after April 15, 2024.