Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Adoption Credit/Child Tax/Advanced Child Credit Applied Order

This is my first time having any issues with taxes. We adopted our daughter last year, so I did the adoption credit, but TurboTax showed my refund as $8725 and IRS adjusted to $3925. $4800 less, which appears to be the child tax credit for my 3 kids. I'm having a hard time deciphering what the deal is. It appears to be the order the IRS is applying the credits in, but they appear to not be doing it in the correct order according to the IRM. Can you advice?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

That does not sound right. 

The Child Tax Credit is 2,000 per child. If all three children are eligible, that would be a credit of 6,000.

If that credit was not taken, you would get the "Additional Child Tax Credit" which is 1,600 per child. 

So the difference would be 400 x 3 or 1,200. 

Please look at your 1040 line 19 for the Child Tax Credit and line 28 for Additional Child Tax Credit. 

The adoption credit is on Schedule 3 which is listed on the 1040 line 31.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you for the reply. I finally had time to look into this again:

1040 line 19: 1,200

Line 28: 4,800

Line 31 on 1040 is blank - are you sure that's the correct line? It says Amount from Schedule 3, line 15. Sched 3 line 15 is add lines 9-12 and 14 which are all blank.