turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a New York resident working for Connecticut company. Do I have to pay taxes to both NY and Connecticut?

In 01/17 I was a resident of New York and in 06/17 I changed my job from a NY company to a Connecticut company. On 08/17 I moved to Connecticut and changed my residency. During the two month overlap (from 06/17 to 08/17), I was NY resident with a CT job. How do I avoid paying double taxes in Turbo Tax. 

How do I tell NY that I already paid the CT state tax during the two month overlap.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I am a New York resident working for Connecticut company. Do I have to pay taxes to both NY and Connecticut?

You are double-taxed on the overlap.  New York does not exempt this income from NY tax.  What NY will do is issue you a tax credit for the amount of tax you pay to Connecticut for the income you earned in CT while still living in NY.  

If TurboTax does not calculate the amount for you automatically (it may be difficult for the program to do so given the situation), you will need to determine the amount of income you earned in the overlap before moving to CT.  Then, prorate the amount of CT tax to the percentage of the CT income that is the double-taxed income.  To determine this, divide the CT income earned while still living in NY by the amount of overall income reported to CT.  Then, multiply this percentage by the difference of the amount of CT tax withheld minus the CT refund or the CT additional tax plus the additional amount due.  To illustrate: