Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

abhion92

While filing for state tax, can I use the incomes that I earned in Colorado state only, instead of total income from all states? I have two W2s.

I have already filed my federal and have to file colorado state tax. While filing for state tax, can I use the incomes that I earned in Colorado state only, instead of total income from all states? I have two W2s. One W2 as a graduate student, I worked as a teaching assistant in Colorado. Another W2 for working as an intern during summer in Las Vegas, NV. During the year 2016. My residence has been Colorado for all the time, even though I temporarily worked for 3 months in Las Vegas. In the federal return 1040A, I have declared incomes from both the W2s. As you know Nevada doesn't have state taxes but only federal. But while filing for state taxes I want to show the income from employer in Colorado state only. So can I do this?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Patrice

While filing for state tax, can I use the incomes that I earned in Colorado state only, instead of total income from all states? I have two W2s.

You would indicate in the return that you lived/worked in 2 different states. Then, TurboTax will be prompted to prepare the 2 state tax returns separately. You would more than likely want to prepare 2 part-year resident returns. (Part-year CO and Part-year NV).  TurboTax will ask you the questions that will guide you on how to enter and allocate the income that you made in each state and help you determine what is taxable in each state.

Since Nevada doesn't have a state income tax then you would not have to pay state taxes on that income.