Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Maryland filing requirement for Virginia resident

I am a Virginia resident. In 2019, I sold real estate located in MD through a LLC (I am the sole member). 1)Do I have to file a MD nonresident return for 2019? 2)Do I also have to include the sale in my VA individual return? 3)If so, do I get a credit for taxes paid in MD? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
KurtL1
Expert Alumni

Yes, you will need to file a non-resident return in the State of Maryland. The income from the sale was earned on property located within the state and Maryland requires that a return must to be filed with the state. 

When filing the Maryland return you should include in your state withholding the tax paid on behalf of the nonresident transferor that was reported on Form MW506NRS.  MD Withholding Requirements (page 3)

On your Virginia return you could be able to subtract from your Virginia Taxable Income the amount of Long-Term Capital Gains.on the sale of the property. Virginia Income Subtractions

If you are unable to subtract the income on the sale you will be able to get a credit for the income taxes you paid to Maryland. Credit For Taxes Paid To Another State

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15