Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Does state residency continue while serving as a federal political appointee in DC

I would welcome advice about a potential situation. I am a resident of Washington State. If I were to accept a federal political appointment in Washington DC [non-career, non-permanent] and maintain a residence in Washington State [including drivers license & voter registration], would I remain a resident of WA for federal and state tax filing status? Would I file non-resident returns in DC, VA or MD for federal earnings [wherever I end up renting an apartment while serving in the political job] and be subject to WA state tax regulations for other income including deferred comp payments? Thank you for any advice you can provide -- I appreciate your help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15

Does state residency continue while serving as a federal political appointee in DC

The issue isn't whether you are "in DC" for 183 days or more.  DC will regard you as a resident for tax purposes if you maintain a place of abode in the District for 183 days or more.

See "What is the meaning of Statutory Residency?" in this web reference:

https://otr.cfo.dc.gov/page/audit-division-frequently-asked-questions#:~:text=Section%2047%2D1801.04...

If you live in MD or VA, you'll be subject to their definitions of residency - which you can find on each state's tax website.  Read the definitions carefully; "residency audits" are not uncommon.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable