Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

PA resident with K-1 reported in NC

I am a PA resident. In 2023, I received taxable income from an estate in NC. The estate accountant prepared a federal K-1 and an NC K-1. No PA K-1 was created.

After doing my federal taxes with turbotax (including the K-1 income), I had turbotax prepare a non-resident return for NC, with the K-1 reported income. Tax rates are higher in NC than in PA, but I imagined that I would get some kind of credit for these NC taxes (on the K-1 income only) on my PA taxes.

I then used turbotax to prepare my PA state taxes. Turbotax "saw" the K-1 filing and entered it in my PA taxes. It also offered me a screen that said, in effect, "you will see yourself paying taxes twice, in both NC and PA, but don't worry -- later we will get you a credit in PA for the taxes paid in NC."

Then the trouble started. First, although I was taken through something that was looking for tax credits, and the taxes paid to NC were noted, I was shown no credit in PA for taxes paid in NC. In effect, I would (will?) be paying both 4.5% on this income in NC and 3.07% in PA. Is this correct?