Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

hweb34

Ohio/Kentucky Reciprocity Error: Part-year resident both states, worked only in Ohio

I lived in Kentucky most of the year then moved to Ohio. When attempting to report the income that was taxed by both Ohio and Kentucky (per TurboTax instructions, "Enter Ohio W-2 compensation only if Ohio state income tax was withheld during the portion of the year that you were a resident of Indiana, Kentucky..."), I continue to get the error, "Schedule of Adj: Ohio neighbor st income should be blank. To qualify for this deduction, you must be a resident of Indiana, Kentucky...." At the time it was taxed, I was a resident of Kentucky but my attempts to file continue to fail due to this error.

As a part year resident, how do I report the double-taxed income? There is an Ohio credit for taxes on incomes in other states, but those directions say, "Enter the following information for income you earned while an Ohio resident that was taxed by both Other State and Ohio." I wasn't yet an Ohio resident when that was taxed so I'm not sure this is the right spot either. Please help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DMarkM1
Expert Alumni

Ohio/Kentucky Reciprocity Error: Part-year resident both states, worked only in Ohio