Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

haynest

I live in Ohio, and work in PA. My employer withheld Ohio taxes from what I see on my W2. I have a question on how to handle fill out the Pennsylvania Nonresident Return.

I live in Ohio, and work in PA. My employer withheld Ohio taxes from what I see on my W2.

I am on the State Taxes section, and I am on the Compensation Summary page for the Pennsylvania nonresident return. 

Currently, all three W-2's I have on the page have a State ID of OH. My W-2 is what I am confused on. I am not sure if I need to click the edit button for my W-2, and check the box that reads "Make this income taxable in PA. I do not think that I need to since I am an Ohio resident.

I think I am just getting confused with the instructions listed on the Compensation Summary. The third paragraph reads.

"If your compensation was not earned while a Pennsylvania resident or from Pennsylvania sources, you will need to edit the entry." So my answer to this would be, no, my compensation was not earned while I was a Pennslyvania resident. But, yes my compensation was earned from Pennsylvania sources.

The fourth paragraph reads. "If you were a resident of Indiana, Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, Virginia or West Virginia (reciprocal wage states) and worked in Pennsylvania you may need to change the wages to zero to claim a refund." I am a resident of Ohio, but how do I know if I need to change the wages to zero and claim a refund? Where would I change the wages to zero?