Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tom_kozak61
Returning Member

NY non resident

I am a full time resident of PA and worked in NY until November 2020 when I got laid off. I collected NY unemployment in 2021. I am filing a 2021 NY non resident tax form for the unemployment compensation only. However turbo tax says that NY includes all income from dividends interest and cap gains. I am paying for that income on my PA state tax return. Why would I also have to pay NY? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
FangxiaL
Expert Alumni

NY non resident

If none of the interest, dividends, and capital gains is from a business or occupation carried on in New York State, change the numbers to 0 instead.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
kozak61
Returning Member

NY non resident

I did zero them out but it seems like the form for NY taxes a percent of your federal AGI even though I only received unemployment. I cashed in a lot of cap gains so now I have to pay tax on that 3 times..Federal, PA and NY!!!

ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

NY non resident

Yes. New York taxes a percentage of federal AGI after NY adjustments. This is "New York adjusted gross income."

New York uses your total income to calculate the tax rate for part-year and nonresidents so your interest, dividends and capital gains are included in the calculation for the tax rate, but not in the actual tax.

For example, if you earned $100,000 total and $30,000 of unemployment in NY, your tax rate would be based on $100,000, not $30,000.