Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

uzi900
Returning Member

NJ Resident who Works in NY Getting NJ Tax Credit - Confused about Amount Displayed

Hi,

I'm a NJ resident who works in NY. I understand that the tax rate in NY is higher than in NJ and that I can only receive a credit up to the amount of tax that would be owed if that income was earned in NJ (so, even if I paid $3000 in tax in NY, I won't receive a $3000 credit for my NJ tax).

My question is about the TurboTax software - TurboTax calculated that I am owed a credit of $2500 for paying NYS tax (this is displayed in the "Credit for Tax Paid to New York" screen). However, when I click on the continue button, the credit amount displayed on the next screen ("summary of taxes paid to other states") is a different number (about $400 less than the prior screen).  If this isn't a bug, it should be explained to the user why the amounts are different. Any ideas? Am I completely missing something? Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

NJ Resident who Works in NY Getting NJ Tax Credit - Confused about Amount Displayed

Without seeing the screens you are talking about, it is likely the amount you are actually getting as a credit.  The amount that if you looked at your NJ-1040 Line 44, this is the number you would see there.

So, on the first screen, the credit would be the number that you paid to NY on the next screen, the actual credit. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

As a NJ resident, you get a credit for tax paid to the State of NY on Form NJ-COJ.