Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the W-4! >> Event happening TOMORROW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

MLR_business
Returning Member

NJ Resident All Year, but work location changed from NJ to NY (SAME EMPLOYER) mid year

Hello! I have a question that's a bit different from the usual Live in NJ / Work in NY situation. I am already aware of filing resident NJ and Non-Resident NY and applying credits to NJ for taxes paid to NY.

Context/details:

I was a resident in NJ for all of 2022 and worked in NJ for half of the year. Halfway through the year, my work location changed to NY but with the same employer.

At the end of 2022 I received W-2 forms for both NJ and NY. I only received one W-2 for NJ, so my income earned as both an employee/resident and my income that was earned just as a resident was all packed into one NJ W-2, since my employer remained the same.

On my NY return, I indicated on the Form IT-203 which earnings during the year came from NY sources only, and an adjustment was made. I owe a small amount to NY following this allocation... I think this seems correct.

Moving onto my NJ return, I did receive a credit for taxes paid to NY, but the software is still indicating that I owe $500+ to NJ. This surprises me because I did not expect to owe anything to NJ outside of taxes in investment income. My investment income for the year was ~$1,500 (only dividends and LT cap gains), so I don't think the $500+ owed can all be from investment income.

The Question(s):

1. Per the above, I thought I would not have owed anything to NJ outside of taxes on investment income, but it looks like the software is indicating I owe far more than that ($500+). Is there something I'm not considering or inputting incorrectly in my NJ return?