Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

New Jersey Return

Hello, 

My employer messed up my withholding and said I was a resident of New Jersey for half the year. I filed my state returns and tried to get all of my $911 withholding back. I had to file a paper return for some reason and they only sent me a check back for $65. What next steps should I take? I tried reaching out to the New Jersey taxation department, but I have not had any luck yet. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies

New Jersey Return

@Bunzy11 - what was the other state? 

where did you live in 2022? in one state or multiple states? which ones? 

in what state(s) did you file a tax return?

hard to explain what is required to do without that additonal detail. 

New Jersey Return

Hello @NCperson

First, thank you for your response.

Second, I lived in Missouri as of 2022 but I took a new position that was based out of New Jersey but I am working remotely. So the HR group changed my living location to NJ and started the withholding. I filed a state return for both Missouri and New Jersey. 

TomD8
Level 15

New Jersey Return

NJ does not tax non-resident remote income.  If you never resided in nor actually (physically) worked in NJ during the tax year, then your work income is not taxed by NJ.

If this is your situation, and your employer mistakenly withheld NJ taxes from your pay, then the procedure is to file a non-resident NJ return on which you report the withholding but allocate zero income to NJ.  This should result in a full refund of the incorrectly withheld NJ taxes.

Your income is of course 100% taxable by your home state of MO.