Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Multi state filling

I was a Virginia resident in the year 2021 and in early 2022, I moved to Colorado for Job (Job start date - Jan 3rd 2022). I temporarily stayed and worked remotely from VA for 34 days last year during my relocation.
Do I need to add both the states in my tax return or just Colorado is fine?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DMarkM1
Expert Alumni

Multi state filling

No.  You're going to file part-year returns in both states.  In the "My Info" section indicate CO is your resident state on 12/31. Next answer "Yes" you lived in another state, select VA and enter the date the you actually finally physically left VA.

Enter all applicable income and deductions in the federal interview according to the forms you received.  

In each of the state returns you will have the opportunity to allocate income/deductions based on where you physically worked.  Divide the income or deduction source that was spread over both states by the number of working days or weeks for that employer.  If it was the whole year, there are 260 working days or 52 weeks. If there were vacation days/weeks then subtract those from the total before dividing.  Then multiply the result by the number worked in each respective state.

If there were income sources/deductions that only apply to a specific state then only allocate that source as appropriate. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
DMarkM1
Expert Alumni

Multi state filling