Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Moved to MD from PA in May. How do I correctly reconcile the PA, MD, and City of Philadelphia taxes?

Hello All,

In theory, my return isn't too difficult!

But I need help because I went to another job in a new state (Maryland) in May.

Until May I worked in PHILADELPHIA as a 911 dispatcher.
After May I now work as a police officer in Maryland!

I have to enter the following:
1) W2 from City of Philadelphia
2) W2 from City of Baltimore
3) 1099-R from Philadelphia - pension

* I did not work in either state at the same time.
* I read that in Maryland the state also collects the local taxes.

So,

1) I thought I read somewhere when you move to another state that it matters which state return you do first in TurboTax?

2) Why does it ask if you were a public safety officer, and does anyone know if a 911 dispatcher in Philadelphia is a public safety officer? Could they be asking this to determine if you should have paid in to social security or not?

3) Does anyone know how to correctly reconcile the state taxes in this situation between PA, MD, and PHILADELPHIA? Will entering the two W2's accomplish this, or do I have TT questions to answer correctly too?

4) LOTS OF CONFUSION HERE -- The 1099-R is as follows: box 1, 7900, box 2 7900, box 4 1580, box 5 is zero, box 7 is code 1, box 9b is zero, everything else is blank or not checked.

It's asking me what state I was in when I got the 1099-R?

I don't think I did anything with this pension money from Philadelphia? Who has the 1580 that was withheld in box 4?

Why does it say code 1 in box 7, it's asking me where the distribution is now and did I roll this over and replace the 1580 withheld or not?

Do I need to rollover this 7900, since I don't work anymore in Philadelphia?

Thank you for any and all help!