Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

elliott00
Returning Member

Live in NJ but only worked in PA in 2023, owing NJ taxes for the first time. Unsure why

So I have a question. I live in NJ but only worked in PA in 2023. I only have one job and it was in PA and I didn't make any income in the NJ area. I am filing my taxes but it is stating that I owe about $600 to $700 dollars in NJ taxes. I am a full-time graduate student and I am paying school out of pocket towards tuition and have been a full time student since August 2021. I contribute to my job's 403b retirement fund at 15%. I also make payments towards my student loans and received a 1098-E regarding the principal interest I've paid. Compared to the previous two years, I made significantly less and have only made about 46k in the year 2023. I know NJ and PA have a reciprocity agreement. Despite these factors, I am unsure why I am being told that I owe NJ taxes?  Is there anyone that can help and explain this to me?  This is my first time owing taxes. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

Live in NJ but only worked in PA in 2023, owing NJ taxes for the first time. Unsure why

You owe NJ income tax because you're a resident of NJ.  Your resident state can tax ALL your income, regardless of where you earn it.

The NJ-PA reciprocity agreement simply means that a NJ resident who earns W-2 wages or salary in PA is taxed on that income only by their home state of NJ.

If you haven't already done so, submit PA Form REV-419 to your employer to declare exemption from PA withholding.  Here's a link to the form: