Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kevinhao
Returning Member

How to Distinguish between Nonresident or Part-year Resident for NY?

Hi the community,

I am currently an international graduate student with an F-1 visa for a school in NY. I am not sure whether I am a resident, nonresident, or part-year resident for NY state and NYC city and I am looking for your help!

1. In 2020, due to the pandemic, I lived and worked in another state from March to August. During this time, I didn't maintain/rent any apartment in NY. It seems that I didn't maintain a permanent place of adobe for substantially all the tax year (11 months) so I shouldn't be a NY resident? But am I a nonresident or part-year resident for NY?

2. In 2021, I will work remotely in NY for 7 months then move to another state for work onsite. In 2021, am I a nonresident or part-year resident for NY?

Thank you very much for your help!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JeffreyR77
Expert Alumni

Your situation is a bit different.  An F1 visa holder is a non-resident alien for 5 years after arriving in the United States.  In your case, your state residency would follow your US status so each of your state filing statuses would be as non-residents until you complete your first five years in the US.   Alien Residency Guidance

View solution in original post

4 Replies
JeffreyR77
Expert Alumni