Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Georgia Income Tax Residency

I am a Texas resident living in Georgia attending KSU and living in off-campus housing.  I work a part-time job when in Texas and another part time job when in Georgia. My car registration, driver license, and voter registration remain in Texas.

In 2023 I was in Georgia from 8/12/2023 to 11/17/2023 and 11/26/2023 to 12/6/2023. I figure I am considered a part-time Georgia resident for tax purposes for 2023 and owe Georgia state income tax only for the Georgia part-time job income as well as interest earned on savings accounts while in Georgia.

In 2024 I will be in Georgia from 1/6/2024 to 3/4/2024, 3/17/2024 to 5/6/2024, 8/12/2024 to 12/9/2024. I figure I am considered a full-time resident of Georgia for 2024 since I will have been in the state over 183 days total. I figure I will owe Georgia Income tax on all income earned in both part-time jobs in Texas and Georgia as well as all interest earned on savings for the year.

In 2025 I will be in Georgia from 1/5/2025 to 3/7/2025 and 3/16/2025 to 5/10/2025. I figure I am considered a part-time Georgia resident for 2025 and owe Georgia state income tax only for the Georgia part-time job income as well as interest earned on savings accounts while in Georgia.

Please advise if I am figuring my Georgia residency for tax purposes and proper income subject to Georgia Income tax correctly.

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15