Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Double taxed income with three states (CA/GA/MA)

Hello,

I am a graduate student who has worked in two states (Georgia as a teaching assistant, and Internship in California). My permanent residence is my parents home in Massachusetts and I have not made any earnings in Massachusetts. It seems like I am being double taxed in massachusetts from the income in california and georgia for state tax, as I set up the turbotax state tax system for all three states. How do I make sure I am not being double taxed?

Thank you.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MayaD
Expert Alumni

As MA resident, you pay taxes on all your income. However, as Massachusetts resident who work and pay income taxes in other states you are generally entitled to a credit against your Massachusetts income taxes in an amount equal to the tax paid to the other state.

You need to file Non-resident  CA and GA returns and MA resident return. To ensure accurate calculations, always complete the nonresident returns first.

For more information, check: How do I file a nonresident state return?

mass.gov

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
MayaD
Expert Alumni

As MA resident, you pay taxes on all your income. However, as Massachusetts resident who work and pay income taxes in other states you are generally entitled to a credit against your Massachusetts income taxes in an amount equal to the tax paid to the other state.