Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Lefty0521
Returning Member

Can I exclude spouse income when filing non-resident state return?

I am an Alabama resident with my husband.  He works in Alabama and I work for a college in NY remotely.  We usually file MFJ.  Do I have to include his income when filing a NY non-resident return IT-203?  And do we have to include my income on our Alabama taxes even if I didnt work in Alabama? I entered the taxes paid for NY and we still owe taxes to Alabama.

Would married filing separately make a difference? We were under the impression that our Alabama taxes would be impacted by my NY income but it seems that it is.  

Please help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

For Alabama, yes, all income from all sources is taxable to AL if you are a resident of that state. 

If you are working remotely, and you live in AL, then you are working in AL, not NY. 

You would not need to file a NY return, unless you are working remotely for your convenience and not for the Convenience of your Employer.  If you were hired from the start as a remote worker, then this is not likely and your income would not be taxed by NY.

If you do need to file a NY return, then no, you would not need to include your husbands income on your NY Non-resident return. You would then take a credit on your AL return for taxes you pay on the income from NY that will offset the taxes you owe to AL.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
TomD8
Level 15