Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Very hard to calculate quarterly estimated tax payments

Hi there, this year I've switched to a contractor role and have been making all of my income as sole proprietor of my LLC. I'm very new to this new tax situation and wasn't aware that I should've been making quarterly payments. To not miss the September deadline for the next payment I'd like to better understand how to calculate what I should pay, however the Form 1040-ES has proven incredibly complicated for me to understand how to fill out. What would be the best way to receive assistance with this?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JBedford
Employee Tax Expert

Thanks for your question, @jcarchila! The simplest thing to do is to pay in 100% of your 2022 tax liability from Line 24 of your Form 1040 (110% if f you make over $75,000 as a single filer, or $150,000 if married filing jointly, in self-employment income.) Since you missed the first two payments, I would pay in 75% of that number before September 15, and the remainder before January 15. This amount is a "safe harbor" that will prevent the IRS from assessing an underpayment penalty (though you might still get a smaller penalty due to the first two payments being late). However, don't forget to count any other tax payments you make. For example, if you have tax withheld from a job. This will reduce the amount you need to pay. 

Hope this helps, please let me know if not!

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

7 Replies
JBedford
Employee Tax Expert