turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self employed student has 1099-misc for $10,000, but Turborax I need to pay taxes on full amount

I am a student, self employed, and claimed as a dependent by my parents. My 1099 for the year is  $10,243. I thought as a student under $12,200, I do not have to pay taxes. Yet Turbo Tax says I owe approx. $2,500 in federal. Please help, that does not appear to be correct. I am using TurboTax Home and Business. Thanks

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

Self employed student has 1099-misc for $10,000, but Turborax I need to pay taxes on full amount

Your 1099-MISC income is self-employed income and is subject to income tax AND self-employment tax.

As your income is less than the standard deduction of $12,200, you have no income tax to pay.

Self-employment tax is calculated at 15.3% of 92.35% of net self-employed income. On $10,243 income, self-employment tax is $1,447.

Please note that if your have expenses that were incurred to earn the self-employmed income, you can deduct them and you would pay less self-employment tyax.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

5 Replies
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

Your 1099-MISC income is self-employed income and is subject to income tax AND self-employment tax.

As your income is less than the standard deduction of $12,200, you have no income tax to pay.

Self-employment tax is calculated at 15.3% of 92.35% of net self-employed income. On $10,243 income, self-employment tax is $1,447.