Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Bmeehan
Returning Member

Roth for grandson

I have a 2yr old grandson and would like to open a custodial Roth IRA for him. I understand this is permissible as long as he has earned income. Can I commission him to produce a finger painting to generate the earned income?  What documentation will we need to prove the income?  Should we file a tax return for him?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Roth for grandson

considering his age, i don't think the IRS would buy it.    while I'm not a lawyer, generally a minor does not have contractual capacity.  

if the IRS rejects you tax avoidance scheme then you'll have have plenty to worry about besides the penalties for an excess Roth contribution.  

besides how much do you think you can reasonably pay him for a finger painting.   

dmertz
Level 15

Roth for grandson

A 529 plan contribution would be a lot more sensible.

Bmeehan
Returning Member

Roth for grandson

As for age, there is no age restriction on opening a IRA. For example, it is perfectly legal for a child to have earned income (e.g. a teen babysitting outside their household) and putting up to the amount of earned income in an IRA. In fact, their parents can let them spend the money, and the parents can fund the IRA.

You are correct, a minor cannot sign a contract, that is why the IRA would have to be held in a custodial account For Benefit Of (FBO) the child until the child reaches the age of majority.  This is no different than if a child receives an inheritance.