Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I received 1042-S (income code 15) Chapter 3 and Exemption code 00. What to do with this form?

I didn't now what to do but somehow I started reading PUB 1040, PUB 54, PUB 519 and now PUB 514 and finally arrived at this knowledgeable board. I am a resident alien for tax purpose and I have several questions.

1) What to do with this form?  The form says at the top, "Foreign Person's US Source of Income Subject to Withholding." I am a resident alien and have my mailing address in the US, although I'm living in Japan. If I don't use "Earned Foreign Income Exclusion," I am able to stop the withholding but it seems it takes about 6 months.

2) I'm kind of getting I may be able to get some tax credit for the withheld money in 2019. I think I can use this credit when I decide to relinquish my green card and pay outgoing tax for my IRAs but it'll be in the future not the tax year 2019. Still, should I get my tax credit by filling some form 1116 now?  Assuming if I am able to get my tax credit, I can keep it for a few years without using it?

3) Or I should wait  to receive my tax credit until I need it?

I've been filing my tax returns by the due date every year and all of which were very simple. This year, I was shocked to receive 1042-S. I've been feeling like a tired old-lady vagabond. Any help will be appreciated very much.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I received 1042-S (income code 15) Chapter 3 and Exemption code 00. What to do with this form?

pillito,