Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I’m completing my federal return and imputing my 1099-G for Indiana Unemployment. It’s saying to enter a number for box 10b, but my form only has boxes 10a &12a.

Also, is “locality” on where I enter my 1099-G on Turbo Tax the same as box 12a locality on my 1099-G. This is my first time sealing with a 1099 from unemployment (thanks, Covid) and I don’t want to mess up my taxes.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

I’m completing my federal return and imputing my 1099-G for Indiana Unemployment. It’s saying to enter a number for box 10b, but my form only has boxes 10a &12a.

Look to see if the bottom of your hard-copy has a state identification number along with the rest of the information that is on the bottom of the form. Also double-check to make sure that you reported your 1099G as Unemployment Benefits. The State identification number may be listed as an EIN number on your hardcopy and is a nine-digit number. Record that number in Box 10B as Turbo Tax instructs you to do.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

4 Replies
AnnetteB6
Employee Tax Expert

If there were not any state taxes withheld and reported in box 11 of your Form 1099-G, then you do not need to complete boxes 10a and 10b.  Leave all three boxes blank, even the drop-down box showing your state.