Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Missing Tax Documents

I've been working since 2014 and have unfortunately no idea where my W-2 or tax documents have been. I have been filing my taxes every year of course and have been paying my taxes timely, but I have only the past few years of W-2/tax documents handy (around my house). I cannot find the rest.  Will this be an issue for me later down the road?  Any negative repercussions?

Specifically, after I retire and qualify for social security , will they give me issues because of the fact that I cannot find the above documents?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Missing Tax Documents

You should have no problem. Most tax payers only keep documents for 3 years. 

Missing Tax Documents

Do be aware, however, that TurboTax does not save copies of your W-2's even if you prepared your tax returns using TT software.   TurboTax does not save an image of it even if you entered it by snapping a photo when you prepared the return.   It is up to you to save copies of the W-2's.  The back of the W-2 tells you to save them for at least three years.

How long to save tax returns

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/tax-tips/General-Tax-Tips/How-Long-Do-Federal-and-State-Tax-Re...

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Missing Tax Documents

First, you can log on to your account with the social security administration and check that they have your earnings history correct.