turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jbvanfam

Medicare Wavier Payments Taxable?

Notice 2014-7 pymts from Medicaid Waiver Svcs Pgms are excluded from gross income, yet my state reported them on 1099-Misc box 6.  I care for my disabled son, I'm not a business, nor do I provide medical or health svcs.  IRS pub states to enter 0 on line 21 on Form 1040 for these pymts & enter "Notice 2014-7” on the dotted line.  Is this the correct way to  documented it on our taxes on TT?  This is my first year to receive payments.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Medicare Wavier Payments Taxable?

Truthfully, you should not be getting a W-2 or 1099 for this income. Since you did, you will have to report the amount on this 1099-MISC as income, because it's being reported to the IRS. (It will appear on your Form 1040, Line 21 Other Income.)  Then you will make a second entry to zero out the income.

To report the income:

• In your Federal return, choose the tab for Wages & Income
  • Scroll down to Other Common Income and Show more
  • Start/Revisit Form 1099-MISC
  • Type in the reason for your 1099-MISC (Medicaid Waiver Payments)
  • Indicate the reason for your payment on the next page (none of these apply) 
  • On the following page indicate that it does not involve work like your main job and Continue
  • Indicate the year received and Continue
  • That it did not involve an intent to make money and Continue
  • And is not a recurring payment (received in the past or expected in the future).   
  • The income will be reported on line 21 of your return. 

To enter the exemption from income:

• Scroll down to  Less Common Income and Show more