turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

wmeskill

Form 8606 Non deductible IRA tracking

I have been using Turbotax for 10 years.  I thought Form 8606 was supposed to track your total basis in traditional IRAs by adding to line 2 each year.  Why doesn't Turbotax include the previous years contributions?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
dmertz
Level 15

TurboTax does.  However, it's all too easy to cause TurboTax to silently discard the transferred-in basis information by inadvertently answering No when asked if you made any nondeductible traditional IRA contributions.  Once discarded, the historical information is gone.  The only way to recover the information is to either manually reenter the amount or to start the tax return over and transfer in the historical information again.

View solution in original post

30 Replies

Where in TurboTax is the 8606 form?

@ldnelsonhas1 - The 8606 form is automatic if you need it.

You don't normally enter a 8606 itself.  It is automatically created when:

1) You make a new non-deductible Traditional IRA contribution.
2) You take a distribution from a IRA that has a after-tax "basis".
3) You make a conversion of a retirement account to a Roth IRA

If none of those occurred, then the last filed 8606 remains in effect

There are some circumstances when a 8606 must be files for other reasons and might require filing a stand-alone 8606.

<a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/1899503-what-is-form-8606-nondeductible-iras-used-for">https://ttl...>