Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I have been paying taxes on my military pension for the past 3 years. I recently found out that I my pension is tax exempt. How do I file a 1040-X to get my money back?

I retired from the Army in 2020. I was then awarded 100% disability from the VA. According to IRS Publication 525, certain military pensions are tax exempt if you were later found to be disabled. I applied for exemption through the Defense Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS), which is where I receive my pension, and was awarded tax exemption in July of this year (2024). Now I am trying to get the money I have paid in taxes back for the past 3 + years. I researched publication 525, and it appears that I can file Form 1040-X to get that money back for the years I paid taxes on my pension. While the IRS has instructions on filling out the form, it is a bit confusing, so I was wondering if anyone had any experience with filling out a 1040-X? Thank you in advance for any assistance you may be able to provide. -Danny
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

I have been paying taxes on my military pension for the past 3 years. I recently found out that I my pension is tax exempt. How do I file a 1040-X to get my money back?

This is basically what I’m reading. I retired based off years of service then was awarded VA disability:

Retroactive VA disability determination