Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a retired CPA. My mother in law has requested that I prepare her income tax returns starting with the 2024 tax year. Can I do this using TurboTax?

Can I use Turbo tax to prepare a tax return for which I will not be signing as a preparer
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

I am a retired CPA. My mother in law has requested that I prepare her income tax returns starting with the 2024 tax year. Can I do this using TurboTax?

You can't use Turbotax as a paid preparer.  

You can use it as a "family helper" but your MIL will have to sign her own return.  Of course, if you e-file, her "signature" is her past year AGI, and there's no way for the IRS to know whether or not she really typed it in, unless she complains later.  When I did my ex-wife's return for her in April this year, I got on a zoom call with her and screen-shared so she saw everything I had done and approved as I was filing.

The technical license terms are that you can install the program on up to 5 computers that you own, and you can prepare as many returns as you want, as long as you don't charge for your services.  The first 5 returns can be e-filed, if you have more than that, they must be mailed.