Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

koei15
Returning Member

Amending previous returns for overcontribution to roth IRA

Hi,

I just found out that I've been overcontributing to my roth ira for 2018, 2019 and 2020. My wife also has the same issue for 2020.  We have filed as married filing jointly for all 3 years.  Am I able to amend my 2019 and 2020 returns via turbotax and if so, I'm not really sure what forms I need to fill out.  I will be withdrawing the excess contributions from those years via the platform where my IRA is.  Do I need to wait to get a 1099-R before filing the amendment for these years?

I understand for 2018 the process is the same, but I have to go through the paper route.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
DanaB27
Expert Alumni

Yes, you can use TurboTax to amend your tax returns but you will need to print and mail your returns since you can't e-file prior year amended returns. Please see How to amend (change or correct) a return you've already filed.

Yes, you will request a regular distribution (without earnings) to resolve the excess contributions from 2018, 2019, and 2020 since it is after the due date of these tax returns. No, you do not have to wait for Form 1099-R. You will get the 2022 Form 1099-R next year and this distribution will belong on your 2022 tax return.

You will have to pay the 6% excess contribution penalty for 2018, 2019. 2020 and 2021. 

On your 2018 return (if you have the 2018 TurboTax Download version), you will enter the IRA contribution and TurboTax will automatically calculate the 6% excess contribution tax on Form 5329 part IV.