turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

401k loan was paid off with an early disbursement. Now they're saying the only way to avoid taxes/penalty is an indirect rollover.

I had a 401k loan taken out last year and was laid off two months later. In my severance package, I was told I could maintain payments and it would be fine. I had been doing so for six months until suddenly, the balance was withdrawn from my 401k to pay the loan off. 

I asked Vanguard who said I needed to contact them to set up a payment plan before the quarter after the quarter I was terminated, which I was not aware of. They said I am subject to taxes and penalties next tax season, but I may be able to avoid this with an indirect rollover. They wouldn't talk to me anymore about it and suggested I seek a tax advisor.

From what I understand, an indirect rollover is basically just be loading money into an retirement account. If I just put the funds into any retirement account before next tax season (that's the time frame they gave me), will I avoid the taxes and penalties?  Does it have to go into the same account? I don't know if I can even put more funds into that account. Do I need to complete any forms as I deposit it so it's accounted for as paying back that disbursement?

Thanks ahead of time

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

401k loan was paid off with an early disbursement. Now they're saying the only way to avoid taxes/penalty is an indirect rollover.