turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Stimulus Payment: Filed as NR in 2018 but as a resident in 2019

Hello Everyone:

I am an international student with F1 status. I have filed my 2018 tax return as a non-resident; however, I filed the 2019 tax return as a resident because I have passed the significant presence test.

The tax refund got approved, and I received the refund on October 7th this year.

I am wondering if I am eligible for the stimulus payment now (yes, my income is below the threshold). If so, do I need to do anything? Any idea how long it might take for me to get the payment?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Stimulus Payment: Filed as NR in 2018 but as a resident in 2019

Per the IRS:

A1. U.S. citizens and U.S. resident aliens will receive the Economic Impact Payment of $1,200 or $2,400 if they filed married filing jointly and if they are not a dependent of another taxpayer and have a work eligible Social Security number with adjusted gross income up to:

• $150,000 for married couples filing joint returns
  • $112,500 for head of household filers and
  • $75,000 for all other eligible individuals

Taxpayers will receive a 5% reduction in their payment for the amount their AGI is above these amounts.

Eligible retirees and recipients of Social Security retirement, survivor, or disability benefits (SSDI), Railroad Retirement benefits, Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and VA Compensation and Pension (C&P), who do not file a tax return, will receive a $1,200 payment automatically.