Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Spouse made money in separate state, how would we file?

I am a Maryland resident for tax purposes living in California. My (then girlfriend) made money in Virginia and received a Virginia W-2. I received a Maryland W-2. Filing federal was a breeze and everything, to my knowledge, looks good. When it comes to the state portion, I reach the Maryland return and all goes relatively smoothly. We then get to the Virginia portion. It tells me: 

"If you or your spouse had a state of residence that wasn't Virginia throughout all of last year, the state needs you to file separately. But if one of you had a state of residence that wasn't Virginia for just part of the year, you can decide if you want to file state taxes separately."

With that being said, I'm understanding that since she was a part year resident in Virginia, she could just file as either a part-year or non-resident. Continuing from there, it asks me about my state of residence and how it revolves around Virginia, but it's not me that has any ties to Virginia, it's my wife. 

I've done some research and it indicates that I'd have to file my Federal return now, wait for it to be accepted by the IRS, and then file a MFS return in Maryland for myself and a MFS return for my wife in Virginia. I'd really like to avoid dropping more money than I need to, but I've spent too many hours trying to research this and figure it out, and the clock is ticking haha. Any information anyone might have is greatly appreciated, and worst case I'll take myself into a Tax Filing Business and pay someone else to deal with it.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
DavidD66
Expert Alumni