Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Military Retirement Deduction NC

I am filling out my State of North Carolina tax return and I am being told that North Carolin allows a dedication for certain benefits received by a retired military member.  I need assistance to determine if I qualify.  I am a 20 year veteran.

Do I qualify for this deduction?

Beginning in 2021, the following retirement payments received from the United States government that are included in federal income are allowed a deduction on your North Carolina tax return:

* Military retirement payments received by a retired member who served at least 20 years in the military or who was medically retired from the military.

* Payments from the Survivor Benefit Plan to a beneficiary of a retired member who served at least 20 years in the military or who was medically retired from the military.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
JohnW152
Expert Alumni

You don’t really provide much information to base a conclusion on, but you state the qualifications for the exclusion correctly.  

If you meet those requirements, you should qualify for the military exclusion on Line 20 of D-400 Schedule S, 2021 N.C. Adjustments for Individuals.  

Note, however, that the deduction doesn’t apply to severance payments received by a member of the Armed Forces who was separated from the military.  

Additionally, you wouldn’t qualify if you were a military retiree who deducted the same retirement income on Line 19 under Bailey v. State of North Carolina. 

See the North Carolina Individual Income Tax Instructions for more information.

John,