Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

milesda19

I'm trying to file my taxes and I'm receiving this error... Tax Year 2021 transmissions are not available. I'm active duty military. Can anyone help? Thank you.

I'm a NC resident and I currently live in CA. My wife has worked several months here in CA. We are filing jointly. Anyone have any suggestions? Thank you.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I'm trying to file my taxes and I'm receiving this error... Tax Year 2021 transmissions are not available. I'm active duty military. Can anyone help? Thank you.

For NC tax filings, E-filing NC has been delayed unusually long this year for a variety of reasons.....you will have to wait until after 24 February to E-file the NC tax return.  That's why it can't be submitted yet.   Supposedly you can E-file just the Federal tax return now, and make a selection to Not Efile NC right now, (but I haven't run thru that filing process myself yet, so don't know the exact progression of filing selections)

IF your wife claims NC as her state of residence also, and if no CA taxes were withheld from her W-2 job in CA (because she filed the proper forms exempting her W-2 wages from CA taxes since she is an NC resident) then no CA tax return would be needed.

____________*Answers are correct to the best of my knowledge when posted, but should not be considered to be legal or official tax advice.*
TomD8
Level 15

From CA FTB Publication 1032: