Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Florida Military Resident Stationed in NY; Spouse Residency Question

Hi All,

As the title suggests, I'm a Florida Resident, now stationed in NY. In the 4 years my wife and I spent in FL, my wife changed her residency to FL, (ironically enough from NY) but never changed/updated her NY drivers license. I know a drivers license isn't an indication of residency, but every year that we lived in FL, I claimed her as a FL resident. We bought two houses (both in her name as well) in that time, and 3 different vehicles all obviously in FL, with the vehicles being registered in FL. 

When I got orders to NY in 2017, I continued to claim us both as FL residents, as is my right within the SCRA and her right within the MSRRA. For 3 years; every year when I filed our taxes, I filed a married filing joint state return in NY as non-residents and they gave her back everything she paid in state income taxes. In this time-frame she renewed her NY drivers license.

Then the hiccup happened. My wife had a friend tell her to apply for New York State: Pandemic Unemployment Assistance. She happened to be pregnant in 2019, and her pregnancy was considered high-risk and with Covid-19 on the horizon, her doctor told her to not go back to work. So she obviously qualified for it. Problem is she did not tell me she applied. I just happened to wake up one morning to $35,000 in my checking account. From that year on, I've claimed her as a NY resident. I don't even want to think about the red flags that would cause if I attempted to continue claiming her as a FL resident after NY just gave her that amount of money.