Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

hcosey

Active duty member with multiple states with income

I thought I was all set with the turbo tax federal and states and went to double check the state and don't think Turbo Tax understands my answers to auto questions? I am a TX resident, on active duty orders and living in VA. I have an additional job in VA that I do need to pay taxes on. Turbo Tax only completed the process for my untaxable spouses income. So now I'm realizing this last minute and unsure if the information is correct. I need it to understand and fill out a 763 for myself, the active duty member. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

It depends how you reported your income. There is a wage allocation screen in your Virginia state return you would only allocate your VA income.  For an example, if you reported W2 income of $105,000 total and $35,000 was earned in VA, you would record $35,000 as Virginia income.  See the first screenshot. 

it sounds like you made this allocation for your spouse but not for yourself.

Once all income is allocated correctly, you will have a properly filled out Form 763. To work on your state return, select the state taxes tab in your return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
hcosey