turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Featured Discussion: Common Reasons You May Be in Debt

not in debt

Level 1

I am a college student -- I am also on SSDI -- disability.  I am also 63 years old.  I will start working from home when I finish college in 2 years at a job that pays me quite well because of my degree -- a much better income than before Disability. And in addition, I will be able to still collect $1,050.00 in Social Security Benefits -- as I will be of retirement age when I graduate.  But I will also have student loans to pay back.  That's the reason I am in debt. Also, I am an artist Digital Media Artist  / Animator / Game Development Major who had to first study 2 years of Graphic Art & Design.  A field of study that costs a lot in supplies.  I have thousands of dollars worth of Art Supplies and equipment from my classes.  I get reimbursed by the government at tax time but only by a fraction of what I actually spent/spend each semester.  That is why I'm in debt.  In this country, --- being in debt -- it is a necessary part of being a student who wasn't born wealthy.

TD4045

Great info! Question: I was told if something was already listed on your credit report, to let it go and do not pay it. What are your thoughts or experience with that?

I am bi polar and although I am on meds I still go through manic stages where I shop on 

line. I don't do it because I need the stuff because most of the time I don't. I just can't stop myself. I am in debt because of it. I have maxed most of my credit cards and use my debit card until the money is gone.  I need help.