Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Will I have to pay DC taxes?

I am a resident of Florida where I live more than 7 months out of the year.  I don't own property.  When I am there I stay with my elderly parents.  The rest of the year I am in Washington, DC.  I want to buy a small apartment there for when I am there for 4-5 months.  I know I won't be able to take the Homestead Exemption on the property taxes since it won't be my primary residence, but will I have to pay taxes to DC?  I don't plan to rent the apartment so there won't be income.  But I am concerned having a property there will make me a "resident" and I'll have to pay income tax for my job in FL.  Thanks for any info you can provide.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

DC Resident is an individual that maintains a place of abode within DC for 183 days or more. If the individual is domiciled in the state at any time, you are considered to be a DC resident. 

So, I wouldn’t because I am in DC less than 183 days? Or does it mean I would have to pay taxes because owning means “maintaining”? Thanks!

ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

You would be a DC statutory resident If you bought an apartment in D.C. regardless of how many days you spent there.

As tax guru @SweetieJean said, a DC Resident is an individual that maintains a place of abode within DC for 183 days or more.

Becoming a statutory resident means you would have to pay D.C. income tax.

What is the meaning of statutory residency?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.