Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jbowerso

Where do i enter a new loan and points i paid in buying a new rental property in 2018? Entering the data in TT it asked only for recording fees and title insurance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
AnnetteB
Intuit Alumni

Where do i enter a new loan and points i paid in buying a new rental property in 2018? Entering the data in TT it asked only for recording fees and title insurance.

The mortgage interest will be entered in the Expenses section for your rental property. 

The points will be entered in the Assets/Depreciation section.

BayAreaAl
Returning Member

I'm no expert but this is what I did...

With TT Premier 2019, I needed to go to the respective property's assets list (forms view), and enter a new asset as "Loan Points". I couldn't find how to get the interview mechanism to ask for the points paid for the loan.

In this cast the "COST" of the asset is just the points paid.

Carl
Level 15

Costs associated with the acquisition of the property are added to the cost basis of the property and depreciated over time (27.5 years). So they are included in the depreciation of the structure. For example, title transfer fees.

Cost associated with acquisition of the loan are amortized (not capitalized) and deducted (not depreciated) over time. For example, points.

To add your amortizable costs, in the assets/depreciation section select Add An Asset.

Select Intangibles, Other Property and continue.

Select Amortizable Intangibles, and continue.

Describe the Asset, (for example, call it Financing Fees) enter the cost, then the closing date of the loan and continue.