Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tax deduction for W2 with Short Term Rental AND Long Term Rental

Hello, I've outlined my situation below and would love guidance on the question afterwards:

1. I am a W2 worker in a non-real estate profession. My MAGI is > $150k. I cannot qualify as a real estate professional as my W2 does not focus on real estate and my work commitment is 50 hours/week.
  2. I own a short term rental that I personally clean, manage, and maintain. The average stay is < 7 days.. Despite not being a real estate professional, my understanding is I can claim losses in excess of revenue against my W2 income.
  3. I own a long term rental that I personally manage. The average stay is > 7 days. Not being a real estate professional, my understanding is I cannot claim losses in excess of revenue against my W2 income.

My question: Is there any tax claim configuration with the above profile where I can change the long term rental such that I can claim excess losses again my W2? I.e. Could I claim the two units' revenues as a property management firm and consider them both as active income as my efforts on the STR are significant?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
MonikaK1
Expert Alumni

No, you wouldn't combine the two rentals into a single activity for the scenario as described. The tax treatment of the two rental properties is based on their character as a short-term rental with substantial services rendered, and a long-term rental.