Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Projected Tax Due INCREASED after adding asset/depreciation for a Rental Property

I am new to reporting on rental property. I just added an entry in the Asset/Depreciation for my rental property. I added in the cost of the property, and found the cost of land in one of the city's valuation forms. After submitting this information, the projected federal tax that I was due increased significantly. 

Did I do something wrong? I thought adding property in the asset/depreciation form is meant to REDUCE the taxes I am owed, not the opposite.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

Projected Tax Due INCREASED after adding asset/depreciation for a Rental Property

Could be several reasons.  A couple.... by increasing your deductions it will decease your income and you may not be getting as many credits as before.   Also after you reduce your income to zero there is no more refund to get back but you still may owe for other things like self employment tax or the 10% early withdrawal penalty from 401k or IRA accounts.

i dont think self employment tax, or withdrawal penalties would apply for me...

Are there other common reasons why this may happen? 

That screen seemed fairly straightforward, but i wonder if I may have entered anything wrong. Are there any numbers in that screen that should be represented as a negative number instead? 

hladejoe

I had exactly the same thing happen.  My projected taxes were $823.  I added a new stove for $962 taking the full depreciation the first year.  My projected taxes increased to $847.  There is definitely a glitch.

SusanY1
Expert Alumni