Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

maslinjarrod
Returning Member

K1 "sale" Limited partnership, help please

I was wondering if someone can help me fill out my K1 “Sale” properly. Alot of confusing information out there and im not a tax expert by any means. 

In dec 23 i had a K1 LP (Holly Energy Partners) that was bought by another company and i was compensated in stock and cash.  I received both a 1099-B from fidelity and K1 sales Schedule.  Between all the different numbers i have no clue where to start. 

First: i put  that the partnership ended in 2023 and that it was as a complete disposition of the K1. instead of disposition was not via sale, sold and am receiving payments and no entry. Please let me know if that is correct?

Next i put sold partnership interest instead of abandoned, liquidated or transferred. Im pretty sure that is correct. 

Next (picture attached) is the sale information which i am really struggling with. 

Sale Price: pretty sure about this 22308 was confirmed by fidelity and by adding stock/cash per share. 

Selling expense: didnt see anything about that so assuming 0

Partnership basis:  i got a bunch of possible numbers. 

Fidelity account says cost basis was  28793.90

fidelity 1099 says cost basis was 27378.58

K1 says: initial basis was 27758. but it also has a cumulative adjustment to basis (idk what this means) of -23067 -> leading to a cost basis of 4691 . see attached K1 sales schedule

pic 2.jpgk1 HEP Sales Sched.jpgTT entry2.jpg

both the 1099 and K1 says use their value for Form 8949 Box E

Which one am I supposed to put in there for partnership basis?

Ordinary Gain: another one im struggling with