Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is this activity a qualified trade or business under Section 199A? I received some royalties from Amazon.com for my Kindle ebook publishing.

Turbotax in the Fed review section asks me to answer Yes or No. “schedule C (Writing and publishing my own ebooks): Qualified business income - yes or no. We are missing some important info. Please return to your business and complete that topic. ” I’m not running a business, nor do I have a business license. But I am a writer who is slowly self-publishing my ebooks. I received a small amount from Amazon in 2022. Should I answer yes or no? Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AliciaP1
Expert Alumni

Is this activity a qualified trade or business under Section 199A? I received some royalties from Amazon.com for my Kindle ebook publishing.

You may not think of yourself as running a business, but you’re considered self-employed if you engage in business-like activities.  The IRS has specific rules regarding treating income as business or hobby income.

To determine the difference the IRS considers these questions:

• Does the time and effort put into the activity indicate an intention to make a profit?
  • Does the taxpayer depend on income from the activity?
  • If there are losses, are they due to circumstances beyond the taxpayer’s control or did they occur in the start-up phase of the business?
  • Has the taxpayer changed methods of operation to improve profitability?
  • Does the taxpayer or his/her advisors have the knowledge needed to carry on the activity as a successful business?
  • Has the taxpayer made a profit in similar activities in the past?