Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

slimandslam
Returning Member

How to handle 1099-DIV "cash liquidation distributions" of RSUs?

Hi folks, I have a specific scenario that, while probably not too uncommon, is a bit confusing for me.

1. I worked as an employee for a software startup in 2015. I received NNNNN restricted stock units (RSU) some of which vested. I left the company in 2017.

2. In 2019, the startup was purchased as an asset sale. In 2019, I received $XXXXX for my RSUs.

3. In 2019, I received a 1099-DIV which had zeros in all boxes except box #9 "cash liquidation distributions" with the $XXXXX amount. (I am in Texas so no state income tax)

4. In January 2020, I received a 1099-MISC with box #7 "non-employee compensation" with the $XXXXX amount.

Question: Having both the 1099-DIV and 1099-MISC statements confuses me. How do I treat this compensation for Federal tax-reporting purposes?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

slimandlam,

The TurboTax solution https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/taxes/discussion/1099-div-box-9-how-to-report/00/134868 shows how to treat the RSU cash liquidation.  If, as I assume, you did not pay anything for the RSU's, your basis in them was zero and you treat the distribution as a long term capital gain.